Kenya National Examinations Council; History, Offices, Leadership and Contacts

The Kenya National Examinations Council is the national (KNEC) is Kenya’s body whis is mandated to oversee all the national examinations.
The examination body was established in 1980 under KNEC Act Cap 225A of the Kenyan Law after the East African Community (EAC) was disbanded. Before the formation of KNEC, exams were common in the East African region.
The exams that used to be examined included the East African Certificate of Education Examination, the East African Certificate of Primary Education and the East African Advanced Certificate of Education before KNEC was established.
In 1985, the education system changed from 7-4-2-3 to 8-4-4. It was in the same year thar Certificate of Primary Education changed to Kenya Certificate of Primary Education (KCPE)while KCE changed to KCSE. KNEC administered their first exams in 1985.
In 1989, the first ever Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) exams was done and the KACE was done for the last time.
Early Childhood Development and Education (ECDE) was administered in 2007 for the first time.

Inside Kenya National Examinations Council Office

Below are the functions of KNEC
1. To come up with examination policies, procedures and regulations.
2. To set national examinations.
3. To register candidates for national examinations.
4. To administer national examinations and process results.
5. To give certificates and diplomas to candidates.
5. To do research on educational assessment.

Council Chairman: Prof. John O. Onsati, OGW

Acting Chief Executive Officer: Dr. Mercy G. Karogo, MBS

Other Council Members

Dr. Julius Jwan, MBS: Principal Secretary, Department of Early Learning and Basic Education.

Colonel (Ret) Leonard Owambo

CPA, Dr. Fred Ochogo Sporta

Ms. Rosemary C. Saina, HSC

Prof. Eric Okoth Ogur, PhD CEng MIMechE

Martin Osang’iri Okiyo, OGW, SMIF

Dr. Nancy Macharia, CBS

Prof. Charles O. Ong’ondo

Below are the contacts and Physical locations of KNEC offices.


South C Offices, the New Mitihani House
•National Housing Corporation House, along the Aga Khan Walk
•Industrial Area Office, at the Ministry of Public Works along the Likoni Road
•Mitihani House in Kilimani along Dennis Pritt Road

Postal Address; P.O. Box: 73598-00200, Nairobi

+254 020 3317412 or 0203317413 or 0203317419 or 02023317427
+2540202713874 or 0202713894 or 020-2713845 or 020-2711536

For Foreign Inquiries – 0202143412
For KCSE Inquiries- 0771813972
For KCPE Inquiries- 0772069891
For PTE Inquiries – 0772069882
For Technical Inquiries – 0771813866 or 0771814259
For Business Inquiries – 0771814060 or 0771814105
For Archives Inquiries- 0732333566 or 0720741004

Fax: +254-020- 2226032