List of Appointed Cabinet Assistant Secretaries (CAS) 2023

21 Cabinet Assistant Secretaries (CAS) have recently been appointed by President William Ruto to work in several ministries.

The additional hires were made with the goal of fortifying the government’s executive branch.

A Kenyan citizen and holder of a bachelor’s degree from a Kenyan university are prerequisites for appointment. They must also show that they have the interpersonal and communication abilities necessary to effectively handle the administrative-political interface.

The criteria of Chapter Six of the Constitution must also be met.

Upon performing his or her duties, a Chief Administrative Secretary will be accountable to the Cabinet Secretary. Responding to concerns or inquiries relating to the portfolio given to the office, serving as a liaison with the National Assembly and Senate, and representing the Cabinet Secretary at any meetings as directed by the CS are among the responsibilities.

The appointing authority will decide how long the CAS will be employed under contract. The position has a public service grade of CSG, and is compensated and offered benefits at that level.



1. Hon. Cleophas Malala CAS Interior and National Administration
2. Hon. Kaleb Kositany CAS Land and Housing
3. Eliud Kamau CAS Public and Gender Service
4. Annastacia Mwende CAS Mining and Blue Economy
5. Hon. Purity Ngirici CAS Tourism and Wildlife Heritage
6. Hon. Okoth Obado CAS Defence
7. Hon. Charles Njagua CAS Youth affairs and Sports
8. Hon. Amina Hussein CAS Education
9. Hon. Khatib Mwashetani Transport and Public Works
10. Hon. Millicent Omanga CAS Health
11. Hon. Victor Munyaka CAS Environment and Forestry
12. Hon. Steven Kamau CAS Enargy and Petroleum
13. Hon. Henry Kiplagat CAS Trade, Investment and Industry
14. Hon. Kemosi Mogaka CAS Information and Communication
15.  Hon. Margaret Gicheru CAS East African Community
16. Hon. Kevin Kemboi CAS Treasury and Planning
17. Hon. Rehema Hassan CAS Foreign Affairs
18. Hon. Benjamin Washiali CAS Agriculture and Livestock
19. Hon. Anwar Loitiptip CAS Labour and Social Protection
20. Hon. Eunice Ole Muluma CAS Water and Sanitation
21.  Hon. Isaac Mwaura CAS Cooperative and Micro Enterprise