Teachers Service Commission (TSC)

The Teacher’s body was founded in 1967 when teachers led by former President Daniel T Moi wanted a unified teacher’s association. After the establishment of Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT) in 1957, there was a need to establish a body that would manage affairs of all teachers.

Teachers Service Commission headquarters

1. To register trained teachers
2. To recruit and employ registered teachers
3. To assign teachers employed by the Commission for service in any public school or institution
4. To promote and transfer teachers
5. To discipline teachers at fault
6. To terminate the employment of teachers
7. To review the education and training standards
8. To review the demand for and supply of teachers
9. To advise the national government on matters relating to the teaching profession

Dr. Nancy Macharia Commission Secretary

Dr. Kennedy Mulunda Deputy Commission Secretary
Dr. Mulunda was appointed as the Deputy Commission Secretary in December 2019. He holds a Philosophy of Doctorate in Human Resources Management from the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture &Technology, a Masters of Business Administration in Human Resources Management from the University of Nairobi, a Higher Diploma in Human Resource Management and a Bachelor of Education Mathematics and Economics from Egerton University.

Cheptumo Ayabei Director (Finance)
He joined the Teacher Service Commission in 1999 as a Finance Officer. Mr. Cheptumo has a Bachelor of Education Arts from Kenyatta University and a Masters degree in Finance and Banking from University of Stirling ,

Ibrahim Mumin Director (Administrative Services)
He joined Teachers Service Commission back in 1983. He served as a teacher in various schools before being a District Education Officer (DEO)

Dr. Reuben N. Mugwuku Director (Quality Assurance and Standards)
Dr Reunen N. Mugwuku holds a Master of Education degree from University of Nairobi, a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Educational Communication Technology from Moi University and a Bachelor of Education degree in Mathematics and Geography from Egerton University.

Rita W. Wahome Director (Staffing)
Rita Wamuyu Wahome holds a Bachelors in Education Degree and a Masters i Education Degree in Education Administration from the Kenyatta University.
She was the TSC County Director Nyeri in Nyeri County.

Charles Gichira Director (ICT)

Isaac K. Nganga Director (Internal Audit)
He was appointed as the Director Internal Audit in October 2018. He has headed the Internal Audit Unit at the Kenya National Commission On Human Rights

Dr. Julius O. Olayo Director (Human Resource  Management)
He joined the teacher’s bod in January 2020.

Mr. Timon Oyucho Director of Legal, Labour and Industrial Relations.
Mr Timon holds a Masters of Law from the University of Nairobi, a Diploma in Science Education and a Bachelor of Law from the University of Nairobi.

Mrs. Mary C. Rotich Director (Field Services)

Mrs. Rotich holds a Master of Education degree (M.Ed.) in Management and Policy Studies from The University of Bristol (United Kingdom), a Bachelor of Education Degree (B.Ed.) from Kenyatta University

Teachers Service Commission – Kenya

Kilimanjaro Avenue, Upper Hill

Phone Number; 0722 208 552, 020 289 2000, 0777 208 552
Website; tsc.go.ke
Email; info@tsc.go.ke